The American Society of Thermal and Fluids Engineers (ASTFE) was established in July 2014 to promote the science and applications of thermal and fluids engineering and related disciplines.

ASTFE aims at providing opportunities to promote the dissemination of information and knowledge regarding thermal and fluids engineering, both nationally and internationally. It aligns itself with globally collaborative activities in the traditional areas of heat transfer and fluids engineering, as well as, in emerging areas such as those related to energy, environmental sustainability, manufacturing, thermal management, and micro- and nano-scale transport phenomena.

ASTFE encourages the personal and professional development of young scientists and engineers, and promotes cooperation with other engineering and technical societies to enhance interactions with industry, government agencies and the public at large. Of particular interest to the Society is the organization of conferences and workshops that bring together diverse groups in these fields.

American Society of Thermal and Fluids Engineers (ASTFE) is the U.S. nonprofit organization based in New York operating on web 2.0 IT platform to arrange professional communications, support conferences and professional communities. The organization is supported by individual contributors, private foundations and other governmental bodies. All contributions and donations are tax deductible. ASTFE supports Open Access movement.


"Executive Committee" formed by ASTFE

April 2022ASTFE has formed an Executive Committee (EC) to assist in leading the Society forward.

Reporting to the ASTFE Board of Directors, the EC serves in a significant leadership role and aims to develop innovative approaches to advance thermal and fluid scientist and engineer engagement within the ASTFE community. The EC will work with ASTFE members to appoint conference organization committees, technical committees, and working groups. EC members will also collaborate with other societies on conferences and workshops and focus on enhancing ASTFE membership outreach and communication.

The inaugural members of the EC were nominated by the ASTFE Board of Directors and include Prof. Wilson Chiu (University of Connecticut), Prof. Lorenzo Cremaschi (Auburn University, EC-chair), Prof. Jon Longtin (Stony Brook University), Prof. Nesrin Ozalp (Illinois State University) and Prof. Ting Wang (University of New Orleans).

If you are interested in having more information, or if you would like to get involved with ASTFE activities, please contact Dr. Lorenzo Cremaschi (email: lorenzo.cremaschi).

Promoting Safe and Respectful Environments in TFEC and ASTFE Supported Conferences, Workshops, and Courses.

ASTFE Anti-Harassment Policy and Code of Conduct
Board of Directors
Executive Committee
Technical Committees
Advisory Board